To evaluate the REAL effectiveness of a campaign, it is necessary to send a certain amount of traffic to an offer and measure its early results. Thus, in order to do this, a campaign must complete a “Learning phase”.

The price of the testing period is based on the CPM pricing model, it means that during the testing period your campaign will be getting traffic according to the average CPM for the targeting, but the testing period will end when:

  • impressions * eCPM price >= test budget

or

  • clicks * your CPC bid >= test budget

In both cases you will pay for the testing period on the first model: impressions * eCPM price, it will be counted in the campaign balance.

Once the testing period is finished, your campaign will rotate on the basis of the campaign performance during the testing period (established eCPM).

HOW TO LAUNCH THE TESTING PERIOD

1. Set a test budget which will be used to buy traffic for the effective evaluation of your campaign.

2, Launch your campaign to start the testing period.

Note: Testing period will resume after campaign reactivation, from the “Pause” status, or after significant changes that lead to compliance approval.

3. Testing period ends when the test budget is over or if the overall cost of the received clicks covers, or is higher than, the expenses of the tested traffic.

To sum up, during the testing period the campaign will receive traffic according to the campaign targeting settings. Price is calculated using the CPM pricing model (Cost per 1000 Impressions). After the testing period ends, the campaign will continue receiving traffic by CPC pricing model (Cost per Click).

Example 1:

Testing budget is $15. This means that a campaign has received an amount of traffic worth of $15 during the test.

CPC bid is $0.5.

Average cost of CPM (Cost Per Mile, Cost Per 1000 impressions) traffic according to your targeting - $0.03.

If the campaign has received 500,000 impressions and 20 clicks, then the testing period will be finished as the test budget is over on the CPM model (the campaign has received 500K impressions: $0.03*500,000/1,000 = $15).

On the CPC model campaign hasn’t reached the budget ($0.5*20=$10), but to end the testing period it is enough to attain the testing budget just on one of the pricing models.

Example 2:

The same starting conditions: the testing budget is $15. This means that a campaign has received an amount of traffic worth of $15 during the test.

CPC bid is $0.5.

Average cost of CPM (Cost Per Mile, Cost Per 1000 impressions) traffic according to your targeting - $0.03.

If campaign has received 400,000 impressions and 30 clicks, then the testing period will be finished as the overall cost of the received clicks covers, or is higher than, the expenses of the tested traffic (campaign has received 30 clicks: $0.5*30 = $15, so on the CPC pricing model it reached the testing budget). But from campaign we will deduct the amount spent on impressions: $0.03*400 000/1 000 = $12.

TESTING PERIOD REACTIVATION

Testing period will be re-activated automatically after the following changes are made in the campaign:

  • New country is added to the campaign targeting

  • New language is added to the campaign targeting

  • After compliance approval (status changed Pending -> Approved)

  • After resuming the campaign (status changed Pause -> Approved)

  • The pricing model is changed to CPC (CPM -> CPC)

Note: After the testing period is activated you cannot turn it off. The testing period will run until the end of the testing budget.

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